NEPA Sports Nation

GIRLS BASKETBALL ALL-STARS: Wyoming Valley Conf. Division 2

Lia Keefe’s efforts in keeping the Lake-Lehman attack balanced while the Lady Knights were maintaining their position on top of the Wyoming Valley Conference has resulted in her selection as the WVC Division 2 Player of the Year on the team released by late Sunday morning.

Keefe ran the offense, assisting the team’s other all-stars, and led the team defensively. Lake-Lehman won its third straight WVC Division 2 title and has also won the last three WVC Tournaments that were contested.

Wyoming Area’s Mark Casper was selected Coach of the Year in his first season as a high school head coach. Casper helped the Lady Warriors move up one position in the division into a third-place tie before later landing the program’s first-ever state tournament berth and district final appearance at Mohegan Sun Arena at Casey Plaza.

Keefe averaged 8.6 points, 4.5 steals, 3.5 assists and 3.2 rebounds. The senior helped create a large turnover differential by protecting the ball and providing deflections and forcing bad passes when she was not making steals.

The entire first team is made up of players who received all-star honors last season from, which has since been merged into

Wyoming Area’s Morgan Janeski is a first-team choice for the third straight season.

Holy Redeemer’s Jillian DelBalso and Mia Ashton are also repeat first-team selections.

Lake-Lehman’s Ella Wilson and Nanticoke’s Claire Aufiero moved up from second team last season to first team this season. Aufiero had been a second-teamer twice.

Hailey Kline made the second team for the third straight season and is joined by Lake-Lehman teammate Brenna Hunt, giving the championship Lady Knights 4 of the 11 players honored.

The full all-star team list:


Coach of the Year

Mark Casper, Wyoming Area

Player of the Year

Lia Keefe, Lake-Lehman senior

First Team

Mia Ashton, Holy Redeemer senior

Claire Aufiero, Nanticoke junior

Jillian DelBalso, Holy Redeemer senior

Morgan Janeski, Wyoming Area senior

Ella Wilson, Lake-Lehman sophomore

Second Team

Megan Albrecht, Holy Redeemer sophomore

Brenna Hunt, Lake-Lehman junior

Hailey Kline, Lake-Lehman senior

Maddie Olshemski, Wyoming Seminary senior

Anna Wisnewski, Wyoming Area senior


Lackawanna League Division 4 boys: BOYS BASKETBALL ALL-STARS: Lackawanna League Division 4 – NEPA Sports Nation.

Follow us on social media