NEPA Sports Nation

BOYS BASKETBALL ALL-STARS: Wyoming Valley Conf. Division 1

Pictured above: Darius Wallace (12) helped lead Dallas to a repeat of its division title. (Tim Drewes Photo)

Darius Wallace and Mark Belenski gave Dallas a sweep of the top awards on the Wyoming Valley Conference Division 1 all-star team for the second straight season after the Mountaineers repeated as division champion.

Wallace, a senior guard, emerged as the team’s leader after the graduation of the four-year backcourt combination of Austin Finarelli and Nick Nocito, which led Dallas to the state semifinals in 2022. He ran the team’s offense, averaged more than 14 points per game to lead a balanced attack and was a strong defender.

Belenski repeated as Coach of the Year.

Tunkhannock’s Ben Chilson repeated as a first-team all-star after being a second-teamer as a sophomore on the squads, which were previously selected by That site was merged into, along with coverage of other District 2 sports, at the beginning of this season.

Hazleton Area’s Luke Gennaro made the first team after being a second-team choice last season.

Michael Bufalino from Dallas, Anthony Cencetti from Pittston Area and Drew Sechleer from Crestwood each climbed from the honorable mention list to make the first team this season.

Division 1 of WVC boys and girls, because it has the largest membership of eight teams, are the only all-star teams that will also include an honorable mention list.

Berwick’s Sean Murphy and Tunkhannock’s Dylan Mateus made the second team after previously being on the honorable mention list.

Mikey Cumbo from Dallas, a second-team choice last season, made the honorable mention list after a season in which he was slowed by injury and missed time early.

The full all-star team list:


Coach of the Year

Mark Belenski, Dallas

Player of the Year

Darius Wallace, Dallas senior

First Team

Michael Bufalino, Dallas senior

Anthony Cencetti, Pittston Area senior

Ben Chilson, Tunkhannock senior

Luke Gennaro, Hazleton Area junior

Drew Sechleer, Crestwood senior

Second Team

Chris Catrone, Hazleton Area senior

Silvio Giardina, Pittston Area sophomore

Zach Konopke, Wyoming Valley West senior

Dylan Mateus, Tunkhannock senior

Sean Murphy, Berwick senior

Honorable Mention

Mikey Cumbo, Dallas junior

Billy Hanson, Berwick sophomore

Jack Long, Pittston Area senior

Joey Marshall, Hazleton Area junior

Jude Nocito, Dallas sophomore

Waarithi Oseni, Wilkes-Barre Area senior


Lackawanna League Division 4 boys: BOYS BASKETBALL ALL-STARS: Lackawanna League Division 4 – NEPA Sports Nation.

Wyoming Valley Conference Division 2 girls: GIRLS BASKETBALL ALL-STARS: Wyoming Valley Conf. Division 2 – NEPA Sports Nation.

Follow us on social media