NEPA Sports Nation

Comets extend wrestling success with five 3A district champions

PLAINS – Abington Heights captured five individual titles, more than any other two teams combined, while running away with the Class 3A team title in the District 2 Individual Wrestling Championships Saturday at Wilkes-Barre Area High School.

The Comets, who finished tied for seventh in the state at the Pennsylvania Interscholastic Athletic Association Dual Meet Wrestling Championships in Class 3A, added to a successful season that already includes Lackawanna League Division 1 and District 2 Class 3A Dual Meet titles. Abington Heights outscored second-place Delaware Valley, 231½-165½, for the title.

Luke Sirianni remained unbeaten while winning the 106-pound title while Brian Heard (138), Austin Smith (145), Sal Schiavone (152) and Caleb Marzolino (172) also won championships for the Comets.

Zac Jacaruso landed the Outstanding Wrestler Award while winning Delaware Valley’s only title at 113.

Abington Heights also led in most finalists with six and most wrestlers to advance to next weekend’s Northeast Regional in Bethlehem with nine who qualified by finishing in the top four in their weight classes.

Marzolino had the quickest pin of the finals and joined three-time champion Bryce Molinaro, a 189-pounder from Hazleton Area, as the only Class 3A wrestlers to end their championship matches in the first period.

Abington Heights nearly swept its six finals.

In addition to the five wins, Hutch Lynott made it into overtime before falling, 3-1, to Pittston Area’s Jimmy Spindler, at 160.

The 160-pound final was one of three championship bouts to go into overtime.

Jaden Colwell from Wallenpaupack, at 120, and Shannon Core from West Scranton, at 285, also won in overtime.

Jacaruso, a state runner-up last season, improved to 33-1 with three straight pins. He won in 29 seconds and 1:32 on his way to the final where he pinned West Scranton’s Jason Williams 14 seconds into the second round.

Wallenpaupack and Pittston Area were the only other teams to produce multiple champions.

Gunnar Myers followed Wallenpaupack teammate Colwell with a win at 126.

Julian Everitt from Pittston Area then won at 132.

Crestwood’s Magnus Bibla won the other title, at 215.


Team Scoring

TeamCodePointsRegional QualifiersMedalists
Abington HeightsAH231.5911
Delaware ValleyDV165.589
Pittston AreaPA12256
Hazleton AreaHaz111.546
West ScrantonWS111.555
Wyoming Valley WestWVW103.546
CrestwoodCr  8836
ScrantonS  6325
North PoconoNP  3803
DallasD  35.512
Valley ViewVV  34.513
Wilkes-Barre AreaWBA  1601


106 – Luke Sirianni (AH) dec. Tyson Cook (WS), 5-2.

113 – Zac Jacaruso (DV) pinned Jason Williams (WS), 2:15.

120 – Jaden Colwell (W) dec. Dominic Meyer (DV), 5-3, overtime.

126 – Gunnar Myers (W) dec. Ian Ratchford (WVW), 8-3.

132 – Julian Everitt (PA) dec. Owen Woods (T), 7-2.

138 – Brian Heard (AH) dec. M.J. Turi (WS), 10-0.

145 – Austin Smith (AH) pinned Devin Youngcourt (Haz), 2:55.

152 – Sal Schiavone (AH) dec. C.J. Walton (DV), 4-1.

160 – Jimmy Spindler (PA) dec. Hutch Lynott (AH), 3-1, overtime.

172 – Caleb Marzolino (AH) pinned Mason Sgarlat (WVW), 1:39.

189 – Bryce Molinaro (Haz) pinned Joe Rivas (WVW), 1:46.

215 – Magnus Bibla (Cr) pinned Henry Baranowski (W), 2:49.

285 – Shannon Core (WS) dec. Aiden Black (DV), 3-1, overtime.

Third-place matches

106 – Dorian Hoffman (WVW) dec. Landon Machado (DV), 4-2, overtime.

113 – Simon Zamudio (Haz) pinned Sam Jeckell (Cr), 1:45

120 – Lucas Tirpak (D) by medical forfeit over Cole Kroptavich (AH)

126 – Aiden Kolge (WS) pinned Lucas Delo (DV), 2:12.

132 – Mohammed Nadir (S) by medical forfeit over Sam Stevens (AH).

138 – Edo Rodriguez (Haz) dec. Michael Zipay (VV), 7-3.

145 – A.J. Dierksen (DV) dec. Dominic Innamorati (PA), 5-3.

152 – Patrick Munley (T) dec. Keegan Bucci (PA), 5-2.

160 – Max Parry (T) pinned Conan Kier (W), 0:20.

172 – C.J. Ross (DV) pinned Xaiden Schock (W), 1:34.

189 – Frankie Scranta (T) pinned Lincoln Bibla (Cr), 0:57.

215 – Tomas Delos Rios (AH) dec. Sean Cordaro (S), 7-2, second overtime.

285 – Jaden Kozlowski (T) pinned David Sudo (PA), 2:43.

Fifth-place matches

106 – Nicholas Skokos (W) dec. Sidney O’Donnell (D), 6-3.

113 – Louden Giza (WVW) dec. Brady Kareha (AH), 4-1.

120 – Dominic Bernardi (PA) dec. Jack Andrews (Cr), 6-5.

126 – Jacob Leonori (S) dec. Luke Evans (AH), 6-3.

132 – Luke Brazanskas (DV) dec. Santino Casserella (Cr), 8-4.

138 – Lucas Macking (WBA) dec. Kevin Cordero (S), 7-0.

145 – Cole Stauffer (T) dec. Lou Antidormi (NP), 6-0.

152 – Carter Berry (NP) dec. Stanley Jimson (Haz), 4-3.

160 – Jonas Aponick (Haz) tech. fall over Camryn Higgins (VV), 15-0, 4:33.

172 – Logan Rolles (Cr) pinned P.J. Egner (NP), 2:15.

189 – Thomas Panzanella (W) pinned Zack Rudalavage (VV), 1:16.

215 – Nick Marabell (T) pinned John McLaughlin (WVW), 4:09.

285 – Jake Labelle (W) pinned Javon James (S), 1:30.

PHOTO CREDIT: Ben Magnotta.

Follow us on social media